h1

Xbox 360 Warranty Service..Poor?

August 15, 2006

 I had the misfortune of turning on my Xbox 360 the other day only to find that it stuck two fingers up at me and said “I’m not switching on today”. It displayed the dreaded 3 red lights. After following the guides on the Xbox 360 Support pages, I still had a dead Xbox 360 so I decided to visit llamma.com to see if there was a diagnosis available for the 3 lights. After carrying out some fruity procedure of holding the wireless connection button and pressing the eject button, I garnered a code of 0020. Surprise-surprise, the error is unknown.

I called Microsoft on their freephone number and was told to print off some labels and then to give UPS a call to arrange pickup of the dead but MINT CONDITION console – I could have sold the console on as new and no-one would have known unless they had seen the used stickytape on the plastic wrapping within the box. The UPS delivery/collection person arrived during the afternoon of the day I arranged a pickup (10/08/2006), excellent service. The UPS tracking page showed delivery of my Xbox had been accepted by a “WICKER” at the Teleplan centre in Havant, the following day (11/08/2006). On Monday morning (14/08/2006), I received an email saying that my Xbox had been received for repair…

“We have received your Xbox at our service center. It is our priority to process your Xbox in a timely manner and get it back to you as good as new. We will contact you as soon as we are finished so you can get ready to get back into the game!”

Well, that’s nice isn’t it? They want to get my Xbox back to me as good as new! Excellent, I thought.

This afternoon (15/08/2006), I received another email regarding the status of my Xbox, it read:

“Your Xbox Video Game system has been shipped! You can expect to receive it in 2-5 days. Thank you for your patience and get ready to get back into the action! Your shipping information is provided below for your reference:

CarrierName : UPS
CarrierTrackingNbr : 1Z60857Y68XXXXXXXX
ShipmentDate : 2006-08-09 21:38:23″

About an hour after the email was received, the UPS man turned up with an Xbox! I say ‘an’ Xbox, because it wasn’t the one I sent. I received someone elses stinky, dusty, used, scratched Xbox. Worst of all was the CRACK (not of the illegal kind) IN THE BOTTOM OF THE FACEPLATE!

WTF happened to “It is our priority to process your Xbox in a timely manner and get it back to you as good as new”? More like, “It is our priority to process your Xbox in a timely manner, give you someone elses’s broken Xbox and get it back to you as good as they looked after it.”

So, what do I do from here? I called Microsoft again to tell them I wasn’t happy with having a cracked faceplate. The reason for this is two-fold: firstly. I don’t want some busted Xbox when I paid for and kept mine in mint condition; and secondly, next time the damn thing breaks (no-doubt it will), I may not be able to get a repair when the service engineer sees the crack and reports it as ‘abuse’.

Unfortunately the Xbox support line was busy or so the agent lead me to believe and  he took my name and number, assuring me that someone will call back. That’s commercial speak for, “we’ve got your details, we’ll pretend we’re going to call so it gives us a few days to catch up with older complaints”.

I’m going to wait until tomorrow morning when it’s quieter and then call them back. In the meantime, I’ll keep ahold of the Xbox Quality Survey form I was sent with the refurbed console until this matter is resolved.

This question will be of interest:

6. Quality of repair:
a. Properly repaired
b. Some issues remain
c. Not repaired properly [visualise image of large chisel pointed marker pen carving a tick through the form]

2 comments

  1. You can also fix this with a repair guide from http://3RedLightFix.com


  2. […] nothing of the associated problems, even though I am now on my second console as the previous one failed to turn on…last game played? Dead Rising demo. I bought Dead Rising (as Test Drive Unlimited was […]



Leave a Reply

